Levels of Mission Critical / Data Center Commissioning

During the Construction Phase, there are also five levels of commissioning that need to be completed. Below, is a brief description on each level.

  • Level One Commissioning – Factory Witness Testing

One of the key success factors in factory witness testing is to have a clearly defined test protocol in the purchase specification.  This ensures that each supplier is providing a common test program allowing a better comparison of each manufacturer’s value proposition.  In addition it prevents substandard testing approaches from being submitted after award of the order.  To achieve these goals the BVPI team will work with the project team to fully specify the testing that is desired at the manufacturer’s facility.

  • Level Two Commissioning – Site Acceptance Inspection

The acceptance of equipment as it is delivered to the construction site is the responsibility of the installing contractor, however, it is a great opportunity to verify that all components have been shipped and any loose items have been inventoried and stored in a secure location.

  • Level Three Commissioning – Pre Functional Testing & Start Up

The pre functional check and startup of commissioned system is the responsibly of the installing contractor and manufacturer authorized technician.  Project specific PFT checklists will be prepared by BVPI and distributed to the installing contractors.

  • Level Four Commissioning – Functional Performance Testing

The verification of equipment and system operations during functional performance testing is the last point in the mission critical / data center commissioning process where major issues are expected to be unearthed.  The majority of the issues should have been identified earlier in the commissioning program

  • Level Five Commissioning – Integrated Systems Testing

The Integrated System Test (IST) is BVPInnacle of the commissioning program, and the performance of these activities demonstrates the performance of the facility as a whole against the owner’s project requirements.  The commissioned systems are operated at various loads and in various modes to demonstrate fully automated operation and proper response to equipment failures and utility problems.

If any of the level five tests does not result in expected results, the cause of the discrepancy is identified and corrected and the test repeated.  After successful completion of level four testing, level five testing tyBVPIcally is completed with minimal retests.

For more information regarding the Levels of Commissioning, please contact a Bureau Veritas Primary Integration representative from one of our locations near Charlotte, Dallas, San Francisco or Washington DC.

Bureau Veritas Primary Integration: 8180 Greensboro Drive, Suite 700, McLean, VA 22102 |Phone: (703) 356-2200|Contact Us
©2023 Bureau Veritas Primary Integration, All Rights Reserved|Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com|Privacy Policy|Terms & Conditions|Site Map